Westchester County Executive George Latimer is applauding local high school scientists for their pioneering ideas at the 2022 Regeneron International Science and Engineering Fair. In total Westchester students received more than $25,000 in scholarship money for their innovative projects.

Latimer said: “We are confident these students will make waves in the science world and remain on the cutting edge of their chosen fields. These projects are a testament of how engaged our educators are with our students. We are looking forward to seeing what they accomplish in the future as leaders and as role models.”

Co-founder, President and Chief Scientific Officer of Regeneron George D. Yancopoulos, M.D., Ph.D., said: “As someone who got his start by doing a high school science project, I fully appreciate the critical importance of our supporting the next generation of young scientists, via programs like the Regeneron Science Talent Search and the Regeneron International Science and Engineering Fair, or ISEF.  This year’s ISEF finalists are some of the brightest young minds from around the world, and provide hope for addressing global existential challenges from future pandemics to climate change. I am continually impressed by and proud of the strong showing from our Westchester community, with 25 students earning a spot at this year’s ISEF. I congratulate them for their hard work and am eager to see what they achieve in their scientific journeys.” 

The Regeneron International Science and Engineering Fair (Regeneron ISEF), a program of Society for Science for over 70 years, is the world's largest global science competition for high school. Through a global network of local, regional and national science fairs, millions of students are encouraged to explore their passion for science. Each spring, a group of these students are selected as finalists and offered the opportunity to compete for approximately $8 million in awards and scholarships. ISEF alumni have gone on to have world-changing careers in science and engineering and earn some of the most esteemed honors, including National Medal of Science recipients, MacArthur Foundation Fellows, National Academy of Sciences Members and National Academy of Engineering Inductees.

Below are the list of award winners from Westchester County schools:

Edith Bachmann, Byram Hills High School, Armonk, NY

 Ariella Maia Blackman, Harrison High School, Harrison, NY

Mai Blaustein, Harrison High School, Harrison, NY

Ritika Brahmadesam, Ossining High School, Ossining, NY

Emily Dodd, Somers High School, Lincondale, NY

  Jack Kelly, Harrison High School, Harrison, NY

 Anisha Musti, Edgemont High School, Scarsdale, NY

 Noah Nager, Hackley School, Tarrytown, NY

 Anika Puri, Horace Greeley High School, Chappaqua, NY


Listed below are students who qualified to presented their projects in the science categories:

  • Jack Blackmar: Behavioral and Social Sciences – Byram Hills HS
  • Michael Clarke: Environmental Sciences – Westlake HS
  • Gabriella Colabello: Cellular and Molecular Biology – Byram Hills HS
  • Tista Goswami: Medicine and Health Sciences – Mamaroneck HS
  • Christina Kelly: Cellular and Molecular Biology – Westlake HS
  • Maxwel Lee: Environmental Sciences – Hackley HS
  • Julia Meyerson: Engineering – Pelham Memorial HS
  • Joseph Nadol: Physics and Astronomy – Hackley HS
  • Orlando Osgood: Behavioral and Social Sciences – Ossining HS
  • Blake Rappaport: Medicine and Health Sciences – Ardsley HS
  • Charlotte Rubin: Neuroscience – Hastings HS 
  • Leah Sherbansky: Medicine and Health Sciences – Pelham Memorial HS
  • Benjamin Wang: Medicine and Health Sciences – Horace Greeley HS